The Show | Creative Team | Productions | Sights/Sounds | Reviews | Foundation | Extras | FFF.Org
TweetSend email

Home > Current Buzz > Joshua Bergasse choreographer of FAME 100 Cities Tour Wins Emmy

"Smash" Wins Emmy Award for Choreography; Kennedy Center Honors and Tonys Are Also Recipients

By Kenneth Jones
16 Sep 2012

Joshua Bergasse
Photo by Lee Cherry

Winners of the 2012 Creative Arts Primetime Emmy Awards, announced on Sept. 15 in Los Angeles, include theatre choreographer Joshua Bergasse ("Smash"), music director Rob Berman ("The Kennedy Center Honors"), songwriters Adam Schlesinger and David Javerbaum (the 2011 Tony Awards) and more.

An edited version of the event will air as a special on Sept. 22 at 8 PM (ET/PT) on ReelzChannel. The fuller 2012 Primetime Emmy Awards — with more acting and writing categories — will be held 7 PM (ET) Sept. 23 and aired live on ABC.

The 2011 broadcast of the 65th Annual Tony Awards won the Emmy in the Outstanding Special Class Programs category, for the third consecutive year. Its recipients are executive producers Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss and producer/host Neil Patrick Harris.

Its opening number, "It's Not Just for Gays Anymore," by Javerbaum and Schlesinger (Cry-Baby) won in the Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics category.

Bergasse, who is busy working on the second season of the musical drama series "Smash," won in the Outstanding Choreography category for his first-season routines "National Pastime," "Let's Be Bad" and "Never Met a Wolf."

Casting director Jennifer Euston won for Outstanding Casting for a Comedy Series for "Girls," the HBO show in which New York theatre people Adam Driver and Andrew Rannells appeared in season one.

The Outstanding Music Direction Emmy went to Berman and Rob Mathes for "The Kennedy Center Honors." Berman is the music director of the City Center Encores! series, and was music director of Broadway's Finian's Rainbow, which began as an Encores! concert.

The tech team behind the "Great Performances" TV production of Broadway's Tony Award-winning Memphis won in the category of Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special.

What follows are additional theatre-related Creative Arts Primetime Emmy Award winners. For a complete list of winners, visit

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series: Martha Plimpton. "The Good Wife"

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series: Kathy Bates, "Two and a Half Men"

Outstanding Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming: Steve Bass (production designer) and Seth Easter (art director), "65th Annual Tony Awards"

Outstanding Variety Special: "The Kennedy Center Honors"; George Stevens, Jr., and Michael M. Stevens, producers

The Governors Award, to individuals or organizations committed to important social causes: The "It Gets Better Project," an organization devoted to supporting lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) young people via its website, initiatives and the posting of original videos with messages of empathy, encouragement and hope for a positive future. The award was accepted by its co-founders, Dan Savage and Terry Miller. Since its inception in September 2010, the "It Gets Better Project" has become a worldwide movement, inspiring more than 50,000 user-created videos viewed more than 50 million times. To date, the project has received submissions from celebrities, organizations, activists, politicians and media personalities, including President Barack Obama, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, Adam Lambert, Anne Hathaway, Colin Farrell, Matthew Morrison, Joe Jonas, Sarah Silverman, Tim Gunn, Ellen DeGeneres, Suze Orman, the staffs of The Gap, Google, Facebook, Pixar, the Broadway community, and many more.


According to the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, much of the Creative Arts ceremony is devoted to recognizing members of the production team whose expertise is vital to television production, including such disciplines as casting, cinematography, picture editing, sound editing and mixing, technical direction, special visual effects, hairstyling, makeup, music, art direction, stunts and more.


< Back

Copyright © 2022, Fame Network | Back to Top